Class 1 Medical Certificate

Services | Class 1 Medical Certificate

The Australian Civil Aviation Safety Authority’s Class 1 Medical Certificate is the most rigorous of all of the medical clearances. Flying commercially in transport and passenger aircraft is a privilege and a responsibility. You have to be in top shape to ensure the safety of your plane, crew, passengers and cargo.

SAR Aviation Medicine shares your passion for flying and will endeavour to keep you flying safely.

You will need to pass a category 1 medical exam to be eligible for the following pilot licence categories:

  • Air Transport Pilot Licence (ATPL)
  • Commercial Pilot Licence (CPL)
  • Multi-crew Pilot (aeroplane) Licence (MPL)
  • Flight Engineer Licence or Student Flight Engineer Licence

Contact SAR Aviation Medicine for further questions or book your Class 1 Medical examination here.
We will help you determine which tests you will need to complete pre-examination, and book a consultation time. For you convenience, SAR Aviation Medicine can offer on-site consultations.

See our FAQ page for the tests needed and how often they are required.

A Class 1 medical certificate is typically valid for one year, but may have additional conditions or restrictions depending on the circumstances.

For Private Pilot Licence (PPL), you will need a Class 2 Certificate.

Book Online